1. Home
  2. About NIDDK
  3. Advisory & Coordinating Committees
  4. Board of Scientific Counselors

Board of Scientific Counselors

The Board of Scientific Counselors (BSC) performs quadrennial reviews of independently resourced scientists in the NIDDK Intramural Research Program (IRP). The Scientific Director continually refines the structure of the IRP in response to these findings and overall advances in the field. The NIDDK Advisory Council receives a report annually of BSC activities.

BSC Membership 

Humphreys, Benjamin D., M.D., Ph.D.
Member until Jun. 2025
Joseph Friedman Professor of Renal Diseases in Medicine
Chief, Division of Nephrology
Washington University School of Medicine

Mohlke, Karen, Ph.D.
Member until Jun. 2025
Professor of Genetics
Associate Chair for Research
University of North Carolina Chapel Hill, School of Medicine

Cho, Judy H., MD
Member until Jun. 2026
Ward-Coleman Dean and Professor of Translational Genetics
Professor of Pathology, Molecular and Cell-Based Therapy
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

Roberts, Lewis R., MB, ChB, PhD
Member until Jun. 2027
Departments of Gastroenterology and Hepatology
Mayo Clinic Comprehensive Cancer Center

Wah Chiu, PhD
Member until Jun. 2029
Wallenberg-Bienenstock Professor
Professor of Bioengineering and of Microbiology and Immunology
Departments of Bioengineering, Microbiology, and Immunology
Stanford University

Upcoming BSC Dates

  • Fall 2024: Thursday, September 26

Current meeting format: hybrid

In-person Bethesda (main) Campus location: Building 10, 9S233 Solarium Conference Room 

Last Reviewed June 2024