NIDDK Advisory Council: Members

Griffin P. Rodgers
Rodgers, Griffin P., M.D.
Director, National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases
Photo of John Carethers
Carethers, John, M.D.
Member until Dec. 2025
Adjunct Professor
Vice Chancellor for Health Sciences
University of California, San Diego School of Medicine
La Jolla, CA 92093
Photo of David D'Alessio
D'Alessio, David A., M.D.
Professor and Director
Division of Endocrinology
Duke University Medical
Photo of Cindy Davis
Davis, Cindy, Ph.D.
National Program Leader
Human Nutrition Agriculture Research Service
Photo of Ian Drummond.
Drummond, Iain, Ph.D.
Member until June 2023
Professor and Director
Mount Desert Island Biological Laboratory
Photo of Dawn P. Edwards
Edwards, Dawn P.
Member until Dec. 2024
Patient Advocate and Educator
The Rogosin Institute
NxStage Medical Company
Photo of Penny Gordon-Larsen.
Gordon-Larsen, Penny, Ph.D.
Member until June 2023
Professor of Nutrition & Associate Dean for Research
Gillings School of Global Public Health,
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill 
Photo of Debra Haire-Joshu
Haire-Joshu, Debra, Ph.D.
Member until Dec. 2023
Joyce Wood Professor
Washington University in St. Louis
Photo of Davida Kruger
Kruger, Davida, MSN, APRN-BC, BC-ADM
Member until Dec. 2025
Henry Ford Medical Center - NCO
Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes, Bone and
Mineral Disorders  
Photo of Jacquelyn Maher
Maher, Jacquelyn, M.D.
Member until Dec. 2025
Chief of the Division of Gastroenterology, San Francisco General Hospital
Director UCSF Liver Center
Professor of Medicine
University of California, San Francisco 
Photograph of Karl Malik
Malik, Karl F., Ph.D.
Executive Secretary
Director, Division of Extramural Activities
National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive
and Kidney Diseases 
Photo of Mark Nelson
Nelson, Mark T., Ph.D.
Member until Dec. 2023
University Distinguished Professor and Chair
Department of Pharmacology
University of Vermont
Photo of Keith Norris
Norris, Keith C. M.D.
Member until Dec. 2024
Division of General Internal Medicine and
Health Services Research
David Geffen School of Medicine
University of California, Los Angeles
Photo of David F. Penson, MD, MPH
Penson, David F., M.D., MPH
Member until Dec. 2023
Professor of Urology
Department of Orology
Vanderbilt University Medical Center 
Photo of Ceciel Rooker
Rooker, Ceciel
Member until Dec. 2023
President and Executive Director
International Foundation for
Gastrointestinal Disorders
Photo of Ricky Safer
Safer, Ricky
Member until Dec. 2024
Founder and CEO of PSC Partners Seeking a Cure
Photo of Kathleen M. Sakamoto, MD, PhD
Sakamoto, Kathleen M., M.D., Ph.D.
Member until Dec. 2023
Shelagh Galligan Professor
Division of Hematology/Oncology
Department of Pediatrics
Stanford University School of Medicine
Photo of Philipp Scherer
Scherer, Philipp E. Ph.D.
Member until Dec. 2024
Professor, Department of Internal Medicine
Gifford O. Touchstone Jr. and Randolph G. Touchstone
Distinguished Chair in Diabetes Research
Director, Touchstone Diabetes Center
Interim Chair, Department of Cell Biology
The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Photo of Elizabeth Seaquist
Seaquist, Elizabeth, M.D.
Member until Dec. 2025
Vice Chair for Clinical Affairs
Professor of Medicine
Pennock Family Chair in Diabetes Research
University of Minnesota
Photo of Michael Snyder, Ph.D.
Snyder, Michael Ph.D.
Member until June 2023
Chair of Genetics, Assoc. Chair for Research
Stanford University
Department of Genetics
Stewart, Ian J., M.D.
Assistant Professor of Medicine/Air Force Major
David Grant Medical Center
Clinical Investigation Facility
Photo of Gary Wu.
Wu, Gary, M.D.
Member until June 2023
Associate Chief of Research
Ferdinand G. Weisbrod Professor in Gastroenterology
Perlman School Of Medicine
University of Pennsylvania